Reviews

What people are saying about Lavinia House




FAB TIME - Rating 5/5

WHAT A LOVELY PLACE. WE STOPPED IN ROOM THREE WITH FAB VIEWS AND THE BIGGEST BED I HAVE EVER SEEN.

Reviewer:Rebecca ann M | Sat 6th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Great b n b- Rating 5/5

Lovely room and great breakfast.Will be back

Reviewer:Mrs Joyce S | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


3 night stay in whitby - Rating 5/5

Very clean hotel .tea and coffe facilities in room biscuits also to go with tea coffee .there was a tv in room and also ironing board and communal iron we had 4 poster bed and full en suite with bath and shower.extra pillows were in the wadrobe if needed.we had lovely view of estury and the boats looking over the rooftops of whitby harbour.we were in room 4 ..lovely couple who own the place.breakfast was cereal .fruit .then a beautiful full english and toast.other things were available .request form to be filled out by 10pm .the previous night .very tasty.check out not a problem .free on street parking right outside the front of hotel .really close to seafront 3 min walk down to main street by amusements .would go back and stay at the lavinia again.

Reviewer:Phil K | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights ..excellent room, good breakfast and good location. Would highly recommend staying at Lavinia House and will return...

Reviewer:Teresa B | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Thanks for a great wknd. - Rating 5/5

Great location for everything in whitby. Room very clean,we have stayed in a few bnb in whitby this has been the best stay as yet thanks.Also excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:andrew b | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed here &again it was fantastic. John &Sarah are brilliant the rooms are clean &tidy &the breakfast is spot on. I would highly recommend if you are thinking of staying. We will be booking again for next year.

Reviewer:Paul W | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Great location on a quite mini Georgian crescent with easy access to all of Whitby's attractions.Spotless.Good breakfast.Friendly owners.Perfect B&B.

Reviewer:Paul M | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Location and Luxury - Rating 5/5

We chose Lavinia house with no knowledge of Whitby. We were thrilled to find Lavinia in the dress circle overlooking the sea. The proximity to the Yellow bus, restaurants and the harbour meant we didn’t need to use our car for the duration of our stay. A big bonus in Whitby. The room was luxuriously well appointed and breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful. A wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Marian C | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic break once again.If we can't get in at the Lavinia then we don't go to Whitby,it's as good as that.

Reviewer:Martyn L | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

It was our second visit tjis time with friends briliant rooms and breakfast very well looked after see you again

Reviewer:Russell T | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Best guest house in Whitby! - Rating 5/5

Had yet another pleasant stay at Lavinia Guest House, always a warm welcome to be had &great breakfast. Fantastic clean rooms, good facilities plus great views as well as beingclose to the beach &the town.Book early to avoid disappointment!Thanks again,John &Sarah

Reviewer:Gordon and Marjorie T | Wed 30th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Fantastic stay in Whitby ! - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room with fantastic views. Great choice for breakfast, all home cooked and delicious. Our hosts were warm and friendly, and on hand to provide helpful information. Lavinia House was recommended by friends and we would recommend it too !

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann B | Thu 3rd May 2018 | 5 months ago


Lavinia house - Rating 5/5

A very welcoming,clean,comfortableguest house , beautiful rooms and wonderful hostscould not have wished for a nicer3 daysstay would definitely recommend and return , Food was also spot on .

Reviewer:MRS JOAN T | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Thank You ForLovely Stay With You - Rating 5/5

John &Sarah go well out of there way to make sure that everything is perfect for their guests. Great location overlooking the Harbour, comfortable accommodation, spotlessly clean and a lovely full breakfast, made even better by the available choices.

Reviewer:Robert H | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

We have just had 2 nights at Lavinia and found the service excellent. The room (3) was lovely with an amazing view over the harbour, huge bed and spotlessly clean. This was our 2nd stay in the last 6 months and will definitely return and also recommend. Great choice of breakfast. 10/10 to John &Sarah

Reviewer:Mrs Kim S | Thu 16th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Lovely people, clean room, nice bedding fantastic breakfast, close to everything you want and great views what more could you want!

Reviewer:Amanda A | Wed 25th Oct 2017 | 12 months ago


**fabulous** - Rating 5/5

This is our 3rd stay at this beautiful B&B. It's an outstanding establishment. It's everything that you need when visiting Whitby. The owners are such lovely people and very welcoming. They would go out of their way to make you very welcomed, also leave you to your own selfs. Breakfast! What can I say but... delicious and I good variety. I could go on forever with the compliments for this place but don't take my word for it.... book yourself in as you won't be disappointed.Pair of happy customers that will be revisiting for many more years. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. deanna w | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


LAVINIA - Rating 5/5

EXCELLENT B&B IN ALL ASPECTS

Reviewer:MR A M | Fri 8th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


One of the best - Rating 5/5

Great place, great hosts nothing to much trouble fantastic views and most of all a great big comfey bed!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara P | Sat 22nd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


lavinia house - Rating 5/5

our 3rd stay and perfect as ever,lovely hosts who have found the best breakfast ingredients and stick to them, so you get the food and service that makes you return, beautiful immaculate rooms, a peaceful guest house in a quality location

Reviewer:Mr. chris s | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Our 5th stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here 5 times now, usually asking for rooms 2 or 3. Friendly and good service. Would recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm W | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lavinia House - Rating 5/5

Sarah and John are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. All areas extremely clean and tidy and breakfast is outstanding. We stay here every time we visit Whitby and would highly recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. NickWebster| Sat 27th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

We visit Whitby every year for a couple of days but this was the first time at Lavinia and we will definitely return. Sarah &John were very welcoming, room was lovely with a sea view(room 2) and the breakfast was great. It's a short walk from the front with it's bars and restaurants, an ideal location. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Mrs. Kim S | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

this is a our second stay at Lavinia House and we will definitely be going back again. Room is wonderful (room 2), fabulous views and clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast and wonderful hosts. Thank you again

Reviewer:Mr. Roy M | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean,comfortable,good food,excellent hosts in an ideal location.Once again a very enjoyable stay at this lovely guest house.We will definitely return.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Martyn L | Thu 27th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Nothing to fault. A lovely family who will go the extra mile. Very clean with excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul C | Thu 13th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Nothing to fault. A lovely family who will go the extra mile. Very clean with excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul C | Thu 13th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


It\'s all good - Rating 5/5

Great stay here again. Attractive rooms, perfect location, good value for money. House décor modern and clean. Breakfast just right mixture. John and Sarah helpful without being too fussy. Very enjoyable weekend in Whitby

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Fri 31st Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


A fantastic weekend. - Rating 5/5

An excellent breakfast, and comfortable room with a lovely view of the sea.

Reviewer:Mrs. Louise T | Tue 22nd Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Another fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

Another great stay at lavina house. It is such a fab place to stay. Room was lovely and breakfast was very tasty. Very accommodating hosts. We will be back for visit number 3 very soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rachelle L | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Goth Weekend - Rating 5/5

Comfortable bed, clean room, excellent breakfast. The location was perfect for us and John and Sarah could not be more friendly and welcoming. Would definitely go back.

Reviewer:Ms. Jan J | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Gem of a place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Not much to say about Lavinia House other than perfect.This weekend was our sixth stay and we will keep coming back.Would recommend Lavinia House to anyone, In our eyes it is perfect.Paul &Ally

Reviewer:Mr. Paul H | Tue 1st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


William - Rating 5/5

Amazing 4 days room was lovely very clean, breakfast was very nice more than enough to eat Sarah and John were very welcoming we would definitely go back again thankyou William

Reviewer:Mr. william S | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


A Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

what a warm welcoming place to staygreeted at the door with a warm welcoming smileimmaculately clean and tidy, the room we stayed in ( 8 ) was lovely the bed was fantastically comfortable I don't think we have ever stayed in a bed that comfy in any other guest houseThe breakfast was one of the nicest and cleanest we have ever had, with more than enough choice for anybody needs ( nobody will leave that place hungry )and best of all friendly and polite ownersMe and my wife will defiantly book into this welcoming house again when we visit WhitbyMore importantly I would highly recommend anybody to stay at Lavinia House without a second thoughtThanks for a wonderful staySteve and Mandy

Reviewer:Mr. steven s | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

Another fabulous stay at Lavinia House. We'll be back again soon. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Miss. Ann K | Tue 18th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Outstanding Room & Views - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Lavinia House this weekend was perfect.Our room had a very luxurious feel and was spotlessly clean. The sea views from the window were amazing.The breakfast was outstanding with plenty of choice and great quality produce.Both John and Sarah are welcoming friendly hosts.All in all our visit felt like a special treat and we could not fault a thing. A huge thank you and we will most certainly be booking another visit soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie F | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Yet again another excellent stay at this hotel, cant be faulted, as usual hosts were gud,We will be back

Reviewer:Mr. Martin F | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lavinia House - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Rooms spotless &comfortable. Hosts extremely friendly &helpful. Will certainly be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. TRACY S | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


short break - Rating 5/5

Excellent accomodation. Lovely seaview,and lovely people.

Reviewer:Mr. james f | Wed 28th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A warm welcome at Whitby - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Lavinia Guest House before and would always choose to stay here when visiting Whitby. As always we were well looked after and very comfortable during our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon T | Tue 27th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here 3 times now last room was ROOM 2 and each time has been fantastic. Very clean, comfortable rooms and comfy beds red hot power shower. Breakfast was amazing nothing is too much trouble for Sarah and John. Will not stay anywhere else. Thank you for making us feel welcome yet again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne F | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


what a gem - Rating 5/5

the rooms are as described and the owners are really friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are very good wide range of choice.Rooms very clean and Lavinia is in a very good location within easy walking of town

Reviewer:Mr. Peter W | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


AMAZING ONCE AGAIN - Rating 5/5

This is the third time me and my husband have stayed and we can not fault the place. We will be returning even if is just for the breakfast (salmon &scrambled eggs are to die for, delish!)John &Sarah are more then helpful and keep a lovely b&b.Can't think of a better place to stay while visiting a beautiful place.

Reviewer:Mrs. deanna w | Thu 22nd Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay. View from our room was beautiful. Owners were accommodating, polite and welcoming. Would definitely visit again in the future.

Reviewer:Miss. Lucy P | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Recent stay at Lavinia House - Rating 5/5

Our stay at this B&B and we were more than happy with all the facilities and cleanliness - we stayed in room 7 which was well situated with views over West Cliff and the sea/harbour entrance - lovely breakfast and an excellent choice - would certainly stay again whencwe visit Whitby

Reviewer:Mr. Phil P | Fri 26th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

This was our first visit to Lavinia House.The room was beautiful and the view outstanding. It was a pleasure to return each day to enjoy the room and its views.We were made very welcome and the breakfasts were excellent.We will be returning for sure.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Thu 25th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

My husband and stayed at Lavinia House for 2 nights.A lovely warm welcome,we were shown us to our room.Really clean.The views overlooking the harbour amazing.The window seat loved it,even binoculars.The breakfast really nice too. Couldn't fault it.Will definately go back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda H | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Lovely b and b cant wait to go back

Reviewer:Mrs. ester n | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent- Rating 5/5

This is the nicest room we've stayed in and we visit Whitby regularly.Everthing beautifully done and we'll definatly book again.

Reviewer:Miss. Ann K | Thu 18th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


A lovely 2 night break - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Lavinia House. The house is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Lovely breakfast and very friendly proprietors. It is in the ideal place for a stay in Whitby. Would very highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Eric G | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lavinia House- Rating 5/5

Great 3 night stay at Lavinia House, friendly hosts, excellent breakfast with a comfortable room in a great location.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline M | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


First time stay at the Lavinia- Rating 5/5

My husband and myself recently took a short break at Lavinia house. It certainly ticked all the boxes for us,absolutely spotless,well cooked and prepared food and everyone friendly will definitely be staying there again thank you John and Sarah

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne S | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Supberb stay - Rating 5/5

A well appointed and fantastic residence John and Sarah cant do enough for you welcoming friendly and homely atmosphere Breakfast choices and cooking great Downsides though NOT fault of the family parking is difficult and our stay wasn't long enough Highly recommended and we will be back

Reviewer:Mr. stephen m | Wed 10th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely weekend at Whitby- Rating 5/5

Great weekend lovely guesthouse with gorgeous view of Whitby harbour from room 8.

Reviewer:Mrs. Andrea R | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Second stay - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit to Lavinia house.We stayed in lovely room 7, which was suited to our needs.It was warm,comfortable and clean room, with a wonderful sea view.The room service, the staff, and the breakfast s, were all of an exceptional standard.The owners Sarah and John were exceptionally helpful and friendly.As per the title, this was our second stay, and hopefully many more to come.The hotel is ideally located, both close to the seafront and the town itself.Once again, a big thank you to the owners, family and staff.Highly recommended.Jim &Syl.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim L | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lavinia House review. - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful four nights at the Lavinia. A great place to use as base camp as you explore the beautiful town of Whitby. The room was spotless and the bed was so comfy I tried to get it in my suitcase and bring it home. The full English breakfast was of generous portions and expertly prepared by John who I think is chained to the kitchen and if he's good Sarah lets him out one day a week. Sarah was great as front of house hostess and immediately puts you at ease. Would I come back?? Of course but this time with a bigger suitcase for that bed.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris S | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent as usual - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here many times;it is excellent all round - food, accommodation, location and friently host. We were in room 8 this time but have also satyed in room 2 and 3.These rooms are out favourites. We will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie B | Tue 28th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Our Stay at Lavinia House - Rating 5/5

The Room was very clean and a nice size. The owners made you feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble. Would recommend and look forward to staying there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon M | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


great b & b- Rating 5/5

we stayed at lavinia over the weekend of 17/18 june 2016 . everything was perfect the room was brill &immaculate , breakfast was spot on &our hosts were brill making us very welcome . lavinia is in a ideal location within 5 minutes walk of whitby centre .will definately recomend lavinia house &we will hope to stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. stephen m | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Week End Away - Rating 5/5

Wonderful place to stay. Breakfast was excellent, Great choice. Very good location to all amenities'

Reviewer:Mr. Deepak M | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


lavinia house - Rating 5/5

stayed again and as good as always. room 4 perfect.breakfast perfect.

Reviewer:Mr. christopher w | Tue 14th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


weekend break - Rating 5/5

everything great, enjoyable weekend. Lovely room and food.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan R | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and i stayed at the lavinia for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary.the room we stayed in (room 7) was lovely and had a fabulous view of the harbour the owners were both very friendly and polite and helpful ... nothing was too much trouble ... breakfast was amazinga very big choice from juice n cereals to a full englishbreakfast.we will most definately be staying there again

Reviewer:Mr. MatthewC | Mon 23rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Birthday treat! - Rating 5/5

Would happily stay here again! The rooms and facilities are beautiful!! The service and food was excellent and I would recommend this place to anyone!

Reviewer:Mr. Denise M | Thu 19th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Nothing too much trouble - Rating 5/5

This was our first time staying with Sarah and John but it will definitely not be our last. Lavinia House is tastefully decorated throughout and spotlessly clean. On our first morning I asked Sarah if they served cream for coffee, which they didn't but Sarah got me some for the next morning. There is everything you could want in the rooms including bathroom products.Our room (2) had a four poster bed and sea view. It was beautiful. Sarah is so friendly and although we only saw John once, he was also very friendly and although they must be very busy they were happy to chat for a few minutes. Will definitely be returning when we take our next Whitby 'fix'.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet M | Tue 17th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Lavinia house - Rating 5/5

Had another fantastic weekend at Lavinia, it's such a lovely guest house, so clean and modern, breakfast amazing owners couldn't do enough for you. Will definetly be going back again

Reviewer:Mr. Neil C | Tue 10th May 2016 | 2 years ago


simply the best - Rating 5/5

This was our fourth stay at lavinia house and as with previous visits was not dissappointed.Lovely welcome,beautiful room and great breakfast.Makes the trip to Whitby an absolute pleasure. We shall return again very soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul K | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


long weekend - Rating 5/5

very clean and tidy excellent room breakfast out of this world definitely going a again after wife has had her hip replacement. all the best bill@lynn x

Reviewer:Mr. William H | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


goth weekend- Rating 5/5

Had a excellent stay here for 3 nights.The room was lovely and the owners were very friendly and helpful.The breakfasts were spot on really enjoyed our stay .

Reviewer:Miss. Gemma S | Sat 30th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Superb B & B - Rating 5/5

Everything about Lavinia House is good.Superb breakfast, everything you needed. Comfy room with view over the harbour. Very clean and very welcoming.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen H | Tue 26th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

A very gud stay as usual the place snd room were very gud standard, would retirn again they was out third vist

Reviewer:Mr. Martin F | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent!. - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay here,the hosts couldn't do more to make sure we had absolutely everything we needed,the accommodation is superbly first class,only one small negative is the breakfast time slot ie 8.30-9.30 would be better.overall though 10/10.We will definitely book again thanks both.

Reviewer:Mr. Leroi B | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


three day stay at lavinia house - Rating 5/5

My husband and i .would like to thank sara and john for a warm and welcoming stay at the lavinia house . we stayed in room 7 which was lovely and had fantastic views of the Harbour. fabulous English breakfast in the morning with other choices available would definitely recommend this hotel for couples who just want to relax and have a nice quiet break. will definitely be going back in the near future for another stay. many thanks Mr and Mrs cressey Wakefield West Yorkshire

Reviewer:Mrs. diane c | Wed 24th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Delightful B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at Lavinia House, room beautiful, owners friendly and welcoming, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa L | Tue 9th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


The best in Whitby- Rating 5/5

A wonderful place to stay with great views of the sea and harbour.Both Sarah and John are terrific hosts and go out of their way to assist in having the best stay possible. Oh and the breakfasts are absolutely fab.What a great place we have already booked to go again.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul G | Wed 4th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Thanks for a lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a great couple of days in whitby. We choose Lavinia House because of the great reviews we'd read and were not disappointed. The large room was very comfortable and cosy with great views of the sea and the breakfast choices were delicious, definately recommend the kippers!! Thanks for a lovely stay perfect for our post wedding get away.

Reviewer:Mr. Rob F | Thu 29th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


our stay room 8 - Rating 5/5

we enjoyed a very pleasant stay here.the cleanliness as everything there we found first class.the views from the the room overlook the harbour area so you there is an opportunity for photos.highly recomended with thanks to our hosts.hope to see you again.c.smith.

Reviewer:Mr. craig s | Wed 28th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


lavina house - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Lavina House from 22nd to 25th aug and our stay was excellent. We stayed in room 7 which was one of the smaller rooms but had everything we needed and with excellent views. Breakfast was fantastic and we can't wait to visit again.Lavina House is spotlessly clean and fresh and friendly and in a great location.

Reviewer:Mrs. dawn l | Sat 5th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Lavinia House before and were more than happy to return. It is exactly what one might expect from a B&B. We will return in future.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles M | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Small B&B in a quite location close to everything.Spotlessly clean with nice fixtures and fittings and tasteful décor.Good breakfast with lots of choice.Would recommend and return without hesitation.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul M | Sat 29th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Brilliant Few Days Away - Rating 5/5

Both myself and my partner really enjoyed our stay at Lavinia House. The room was perfect, and we were provided with tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits as well as shampoo and body wash.Everything was clean and beautifully presented.The breakfast was perhaps my highlight of the stay - the Whitby kippers were excellent, and I was asked whether I would like to have scrambled egg with them which I would definitely recommend!On the final day both my partner and myself were very tired after having spent a lot of the previous day exploring. We both were a little late in leaving the room, however were not made to feel rushed in any way.Just an absolutely fantastic base to spend a few days exploring Whitby, we will certainly return!

Reviewer:Miss. Alex M | Fri 28th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic B&B - Rating 5/5

We return to Lavinia House on every visit to Whitby fantastic place owners very welcoming rooms are clean and very comfortable and are decorated to a good standard, bed linen very smart and upto date. Will continue to return here a very big thanks to John &Sarah.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracy F | Sat 15th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great owners, the breakfasts were 10 out of 10.Room was spotless and tidy, lovely view of the harbour, and the hotel itself close to all amenities

Reviewer:Mr. Jim L | Fri 14th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay at Lavina House this weekend. The room was lovely and well equipped, everything was spotless and the breakfast was even enough to keep my partner going until tea! Well situated and the hosts very welcoming. Would definately stay again.

Reviewer:Ms. Janet B | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Birthday weekend in Whitby - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B, spotlessly clean, good quality furnishing, excellent breakfast and spacious room .Owners are pleasant and friendly. We will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mr. tristan m | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Stay at Lavinia House- Rating 5/5

Great stay in Room 8 Lavinia House lovely and bright with nice view from window.Enjoyed relaxing too in seating area in the room.Very central in town also.Delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin M | Sun 2nd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

This was our first visit to Lavinia House but it certainly won't be our last.The room was spotless with a very comfy bed, great views and everything we needed.Lovely breakfast. Faultless.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathryn T | Mon 29th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellant - Rating 5/5

Very clean, very welcoming.An excellent guest house. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew M | Sun 28th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Fab - Rating 5/5

It was perfect as a housekeeping manager i can be fussy but everything was spotless.The welcome was fantastic and you were made to feel like in their own home breakfast was great too. We will be back!

Reviewer:Miss. jo L | Fri 26th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Weekend - Rating 5/5

Accomodation was great and all staff friendly which helped us have a great stay

Reviewer:Mr. Clive P | Tue 2nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


2 nights stay at Lavinia House - Rating 5/5

I would recommend the Lavinia House to anyone that wants a quality stay in Whitby. We were warmly greeted by a friendly couple that instantly made us feel welcome. We immediately noticed how clean and well presented all the rooms were.A generous full English breakfast was served in the mornings with optional extras at no extra cost. We were very impressed with the level of service and care that the owners gave, so much so that we left a tip. Well worth £74 per night of anyones money.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee S | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night in May. The location is fantastic and the room we stayed in (two) was lovely, clean and well maintained. Very comfy bed. Lovely hot cooked breakfast. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend and would not hesitate to stay there again if returning to Whitby.

Reviewer:Mrs. Katharine D | Mon 18th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Goth Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent in every respect. Efficiently run establishment yet still friendly and extremely accommodating. Room7, clean, tidy and with a marvellous view of the Harbour entrance and Abbey high on the hill. Breakfast, wide selection on Menu and well prepared and presented. B&B ideally situated for access to both Sea front and Town Centre, Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark R | Tue 28th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed in room 7 for 2 nights it was a lovely clean and comfortable room with great sea views. Breakfast was gorgeous and plenty of it! We were sad to leave and will definatley be booking again soon! Thankyou for a great stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Damian A | Tue 31st Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Anniversary weekend - Rating 5/5

Came to Lavinia House for our wedding anniversary and the eclipse.Stayed here last year and enjoyed the friendly comfortable accommodation.This second visit was exactly the same and would recommend.We stayed in room 8 which is spacious and although not sea view the view is fantastic.We will be back!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth C | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovley stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed in room onea nd have no complaints, well situated with parking,clean well appionted room and a great brecky,lovley couple,friendly servive and good value for money.looking forward to next years visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven B | Mon 13th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean and very welcoming. Lovely breakfast. Host very nice, friendlyand nothing any trouble. Thank you its our 2nd visit and lived up to the 1st.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter M | Sun 5th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Just lovely! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights.The room was extremely comfortable with a fantastic view of the sea.The breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect.We would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Whitby.

Reviewer:Mr. David JohnS | Fri 3rd Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


This is the place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic!Me and my husband stay here for three nights,if we were to go to Whitby again this is the place we would stay.The room was very beautiful,bed (super kingsize four poster) was out of this world! John &Sarah are happy to help and there breakfast are amazing (ask for extra sausage...they are lush) 10/10Thank youJohn &Sarah xx

Reviewer:Miss. Deanna M | Fri 3rd Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


a warm welcome in whitby - Rating 5/5

We've just arrived back from 2 nights and lavinia house. We enjoyed every minute from the warm welcome until the time we left. Warm, comfortable, clean and fantastic breakfast.We will definitely stay again.Thank you x

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca F | Thu 25th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


September stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable B and B, lovely clean, well appointed rooms,great breakfasts, with a friendly couple running it.Will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen P | Wed 24th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Beautifully clean and comfortable accommodation. Very friendly people and an amazing breakfast. Hope to go back again and stay in one of the 4 poster Bed rooms.

Reviewer:Ms. Tracey I | Tue 9th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


lavinia house - Rating 5/5

Excellent service very clean room lovely viewlovely people very nice breakfast will be returning again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben T | Sat 6th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Absolutely fantastic - Rating 5/5

Room was immaculate, views fantastic, breakfast delicious. Stayed many places in Whitby but this is the best by far, we'll definitely be back.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip J | Sat 6th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Short Break Aug 14 - Rating 5/5

Just spent a very pleasent 3 nights at Lavinia House.We stayed in room 6 which is one of the smallest of the 7 en-suite rooms available, but I have to say it had all we needed and was presented to a high standard and with a fantastic sea view.Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of options.All in all great value.

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart M | Tue 2nd Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


top quality guest house - Rating 5/5

Everything as described on website..A lovely warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble.Our room was clean modern and spaciousBeds made daily.A variety of choices for breakfast.Very tastyWill definitely book again if travelling to whitby

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela L | Mon 18th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


ss - Rating 5/5

once again enjoyed our stay at livi house will be back in October cant wait to have one of johns full English breakfasts

Reviewer:Mr. PaulA | Wed 13th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Really nice place - Rating 5/5

We stayed for three nights over the Regatta weekend in a wonderful 4 poster bed.The bed was really comfortable - the room and bathroom were really clean and both were luxurious.Breakfasts were really nice but after a heavy night it was tricky hitting the allotted slot.Hosts were very friendly and we will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian S | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Great time in Whitby - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B John and Sarah made us very welcome . Excellent breakfast with a good choice ,large 4 poster bedroom with en-suite sea view thrown in ,would definitely return

Reviewer:Mr. Philip C | Thu 7th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


very positive feedback - Rating 5/5

We are very happy .we will choose Lavinia House in the future and we already recommended Lavinia House to friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Katarzyna H | Wed 6th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Great place. - Rating 5/5

We visited Lavinia House for a weekend stay.We were greeted walmly on arrivial and shown to our room. The room was spacious and very clean and well presented.The breakfasts were delicious and we were treated really well, nothing was too much trouble.Would definitely recommend and if ever back in Whitby would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Dave F | Sun 3rd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


First class - Rating 5/5

A fabulous B&B, very clean and welcoming, spacious room number 3 with a great sea view, very comfy four poster bed, and a hearty breakfast. Owners john &Sarahreally do welcome you and make you feel at home.

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela H | Sat 2nd Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


FAB! - Rating 5/5

REALLY FRIENDLY, GREAT LOCATION, COMFORTABLE AND GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY..I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN.THANKS!

Reviewer:Mr. Jemma V | Tue 29th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Great b&b - Rating 5/5

Excellent b&b very clean great food good views and large rooms, all our friends came and looked at our room and could not believe the size of the rooms. 5 stars from us, thanks for a very pleasant stay

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm I | Mon 28th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

We booked at short notice and so didn't get the biggest room but ours was perfectly adequate. The furnishings, bedding etc were allhigh quality and spotless. The breakfasts were well cooked with plenty of choice and I wish I could fillet a kipper as well as the proprietor, who, like his wife, couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful.We'd happily stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Tony M | Wed 23rd Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Hospitality from John and Sarah was second to none. Room comfortable, clean, spacious with excellent sea views. Very good selection of freshly cooked breakfasts to set you up for the day. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael H | Fri 18th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Beautiful Time - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Lavinia House for 2 nights. The room was totally as expected, nice, spacious, comfortable and clean. The hosts were very polite and nice and took every possible care to ensure comfort and convenience. We would definitely be staying at Lavinia house again whenever we are in Whitby next. Completely and unequivocally recommended to anyone visiting Whitby. Thank you so much. Aman and Krati.

Reviewer:Mr. Aman A | Thu 17th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Wonderful Accommodation with Friendly Hosts - Rating 5/5

We absolutely loved our time in Whitby and our stay at Lavinia House.The room was clean and comfortable--really comfortable bed--and had a lovely view over the mouth of the river and the sea.It was convenient to all Whitby attractions.The breakfast was generous and delicious. John and Sarah were welcoming, friendly, full of information, and attentive.We would hope to stay there again when we return to Whitby.

Reviewer:Dr. Joseph M | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Another great stay at Lavinia House, stayed in room 6 on top floor with great sea views rooms nice and clean bed very comfortable.Breakfast very tasty and a good choice, John &Sarah are very welcoming and nothing is to much will return for the 5 time soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham W | Fri 11th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Fab - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Breakfast piping hot and left to our own devices which we like. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorraine B | Tue 1st Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Anniversary weekend - Rating 5/5

This was our third stay at Lavinia House highly recommended room was very spacious, spotlessly clean &comfortable. Breakfast is superb and filling overall this hotel has a nice warm &friendly feel.Many thanks for having us see you again soon

Reviewer:Mr. Martin W | Mon 30th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

We had a really enjoyable stay at Lavinia House. Great location, warm &friendly welcome. Fabulous room (no.8) with great views over the town &harbour. Lovely comfortable bed with stunning en-suite. Extremely clean &comfortable. Lovely breakfast to start the day. Hoping to return for another stay. Would definitely recommend. Thank you.x

Reviewer:Miss. Tracey H | Thu 26th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Absolutely brilliant.We came to Whitby for our 20th wedding anniversary. It certainly will be one to remember.We stayed in room 1 at Lavinia. It was a lovely room and very clean. Fantastic choice of breakfasts, and they were really nice.John and Sarah are lovely and can't do enough. The views from the bench , just outside we're fantastic.We,ll certainly stat here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Scott W | Mon 23rd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

Our hosts were friendly and nothing was to much trouble.The property is attractive from the outside, no more than 5 minutes walk from the harbour and restaurants yet is still quiet with no noise from traffic.Our ground floor room with sea views was immaculate.Good choice for breakfast which included a veggie option.An excellent choice for those of us who love Whitby and the surrounding areas.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine H | Sat 7th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


relaxing break - Rating 5/5

excellent accomodation, very welcoming people, great breakfasts,wonderfull sausages. would deffinately stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. James F | Sun 1st Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


RELAXING BREAK - Rating 5/5

VERY CLEAN &COMFORTABLE ROOM , IN A GOOD LOCATION AND VERY QUIET.....SLEPT LIKE A LOG !

Reviewer:Mr. Tony S | Sun 1st Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Just come back from spending four nights at Lavinina House. We were in room 3 which was wonderful. So comfortable, comfortable bed with lovely white cotton bedding. Everything was so clean, bathroom with lovely white fluffy towels.Breakfast was very good and a good choice on the menu.John and Sarahwere wonderful hosts and we would highly recommend Lavinina House.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean T | Sat 24th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Enjoyed our stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely room with a sea view. We couldn't fault our stay at Lavinia House. We will definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Liz R | Sat 17th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent Trip - Rating 5/5

Stayed once more at Lavinia House continues to meet our high expectations. Can't fault the lovely room and breakfast. Would highly recommend to anyone going to Whitby.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynda B | Tue 6th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Loved it - Rating 5/5

Having spent two nights here, found it verycomfortable and extremely clean. Would recommend to friends and family thanks again.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin C | Tue 6th May 2014 | 4 years ago


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay just a short walk from the centre. Had a very friendly welcome and the room was luxury. Really enjoyed our stay. Would recommend it to others.

Reviewer:Miss. Hannah H | Wed 30th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent. - Rating 5/5

Very clean establishment, owners extremely friendly. We had room 8 at the top of the house, a large room with a nice en-suite shower, toilet and whb. Breakfast was a little early for us party animals but, hey, who cares? As Blackpool B&B owners, we know what to look for and you won't go wrong with this cracking place!

Reviewer:Mr. Mick T | Wed 30th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely- Rating 5/5

Lovely placeNice BreakfastVery cleanNice quiet relaxing holidayNicely situatedParking may be an issueWould recommend and stay again

Reviewer:Miss. Declan P | Mon 28th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Whitby's finest - Rating 5/5

Fantastic. Clean, most comfortable bed in guest house. Breakfast lovely and lots of choice. View from room outstanding, and ideally situated for everything. Would highly recommend. Definately will stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen C | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Great friendly Bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, clean, helpful bed and breakfast within walking distance of Whitby.Cant wait to come back. Room views are great especially room 3.Full English Breakfast was amazing along with toast, cereals if wanted, tea and coffee. Thankyou

Reviewer:Miss. Rosa T | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


2 night stay in Whitby - Rating 5/5

Accommodation spotlesslesly clean and very comfortable. Upgraded to best room at no extra cost. Breakfast delicious. Location very convenient. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elaine T | Wed 9th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Immaculate B&B - Rating 5/5

We chose Lavinia House following recommendation from my daughter who has stayed here several times already. We were not disappointed - the room was immaculately clean and very comfortable and the Guest House is in a great location. The breakfast was great with lots of choice on the menu. The best we've stayed at in Whitby and will definitely return if we come back to Whitby to stay. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol S | Mon 7th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


splendid - Rating 5/5

So lovely and relaxing. Brilliant room. Delicious food. Great service. Close to everything. Couldn't wish for more :)

Reviewer:Miss. Sian H | Fri 21st Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

had a lovely stay everything in bedroom was really tastefully cordinated, with sea view perfect, breakfast first class hope to see you this year

Reviewer:Mr. Alice F | Tue 18th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Lavina House - Rating 5/5

Room. View, Breakfast, Cleanliness and Friendliness, all excellent and we couldn't fault a thing. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend to friends etc.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan B | Tue 5th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


5* guest house. 5* people - Rating 5/5

We stayed @ Lavinia House from Monday 28th October, 2013 for two night.The communications from first booking was fantastic.We arrived late and had a loverly welcome and was given information on the best places to eat. Just a 3 min walk in to the center of Whitby.We started in Room number 3 which was immaculate, awoke with loverly sea views. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room.A large variety of food available for breakfast ( we both recommend the Whitby kippers and the full English cooked breakfast).You can tell they put their heart and sole into keeping their guests happy.Big thank you to you both.Chris and NicholaRECOMMEND AND WOULD USE AGAIN.!!!

Response

Thank you for the great review, it was a pleasure having you stay and we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher K | Fri 1st Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Lavinia house - Rating 5/5

Stayed in room no8, lovely bright room with good views. Very clean and nice fresh smelling linen etc. Great nights sleep in very comfy king size bed!! Very friendly hosts and good choice of breakfasts. Overall a lovely place to stay and will definitely return and recommend to friends.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Miss. Angela C | Tue 15th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We received a lovely warm welcome at Lavinia House. Room 2 was very spacious and comfortable with a great sea view. Breakfast was excellent. Everything you need for an enjoyable stay in Whitby.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nikki K | Mon 7th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Beautiful - Rating 5/5

What a lovely Bed &Breakfast very clean and worth every penny.Room was spacious and bed was lovely and comfy with a lovely view of the harbour Room 8.We will return as made very welcome

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Miss. Jeanette S | Sun 6th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Whitby at its best - Rating 5/5

Lavinia House is in a great location,very comfortable ,5star breakfast. The hosts John and Sarah were very welcoming .This is one of Whitby's best.

Response

Thank you for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth M | Fri 27th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Brilliant food, lovely clean &comfortable room as well as friendly owners. Great central location for beach and town explorers with many good restaurants close by.Had a wonderful stay this summer and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Philippa B | Tue 3rd Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Lavinia House - Excellent - Rating 5/5

Stopped here twice now over the past few years &will continue to stay here. Fantastic accommodation, very clean &the breakfast is the best we have had at the seaside.

Response

Thank you for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Miss. Louise S | Mon 19th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Absolute gem of a find - Rating 5/5

We booked a room at Lavinia House at the last minute for a short break in Whitby in August. From the outset the owners made us feel valued as guests contacting us by email and text to confirm the booking and keep up to date with our ETA as we travelled. On arrival we were greeted by John who proved friendly and welcoming, he noted the trip was for our anniversary, offering suggestions as to restaurants to visit and where we could park for free. It is worth noting the hotel does not have designated parking but we had no trouble finding a spot within view of our room and 100m of the front door...in fact had we parked right outside we might have been subjected to the attentions of the seagulls so we were glad we didn't in the end. Ours was room 6 on the top floor, no lift available but John was quick to offer help with our bags. The room is small but comfortable enough with a lovely view of the harbour, piers and (just) the abbey and St Mary's on the East Cliff and a well stocked hospitality tray. There were one or two minor gripes about the room one being the low pressure in the shower meaning it took a while to wash my hair in the morning and I had to get up pretty early and the fact the room got so hot at night. You could leave the window on vent to combat this problem but the position of the B&B meant there was a fairly constant stream of traffic until late at night and from early in the morning, when the seagulls and fish market also became an issue...so if you're a light sleeper you may need a room without a view!! Obviously this is outside the owners' control but worth bearing in mind. I would however suggest lighter tog duvets and blackout linings for the curtains to block out some of the light might be a helpful addition? Breakfast was served between 8.30-9am we were usually done by ten to nine so you can still get out and about. It was delicious and plentiful with fresh fruit, cereals, toast and a full English offered daily along with fresh orange juice and tea/coffee. If you wanted something else or a variation on this you could request it and the owners would do their best to accommodate it. Again served cheerfully by Sarah. Both John and Sarah were attentive without you feeling you were being constantly monitored, lovely hosts who run this place well, keeping it spotless and home like. We would definitely stay again if in Whitby very good value!!

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Michelle L | Sat 17th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Friendly - Rating 4/5

Stayed for 2nights room 4 was very clean and comfy John &sharah very helpfull breakfast really nice and filling ( full english ) nice location.Would recommend and stay there again if we go to whitby. Thanks John and Sharah for a peasant stayTerry &Barbara Roberts. Shepshed

Response

Hi it was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again

Reviewer:Mr. Terry R | Wed 24th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Fine styled room with comfortable easy-chairs,fantastic breakfast (choices)und friendly welcome. Couldn´t get it better!

Response

Hi it was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Sun 14th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


LAVINIA HOUSE - EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

I HAVE JUST RETURNED FROM HAVING A FANTASTIC STAY AT LAVINIA HOUSE - WHITBY.BOTH MYSELF AND MY 80 YEAR OLD MOTHER COMMENTED ON HOW IMMACULATE AND VERY COMFORTABLE OUR ROOM WAS..THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY TASTY WITH A GOOD CHOICE OF OPTIONS ON THE MENU,ALL THIS, ALONG WITH THE OWNERS WHO WERE SO VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL MADE OUR STAY PERFECT.THANKS TO THE BOTH OF YOU...WILL BE BACK SOON....FROM - ELIZABETH LOWTHER - BOROUGHBRIDGE.

Response

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth L | Thu 11th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

very welcoming, excellent clean room. Excellent food and choice, nothing too much trouble. Will definitely go again.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Dave G | Mon 8th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

The guest house was really nice inside, room was comfortable, and clean, very good shower room, and good view of the harbour entrance, I felt really comfortable staying here, and was able to come and go as I pleased, without disturbing anybody, and its handy for the harbour front, Breakfast was very good, and Sarah and John were very friendly hosts, I will stay here again next time I come to Whitby,

Response

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mr. David M | Fri 5th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Back Again! - Rating 5/5

Hi Sarah and John, Thanks for another wonderful stay at Lavinia House.Mum and Dad loved it too. Everything was perfect as usual.Hope to see you again soon.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jayne P | Thu 4th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Great place to stay in Whitby! - Rating 5/5

Lovely facilities and hosts. Ideal spot to explore Whitby with lovely sea views from the rooms. Right in the hear of it all whilst still quiet and relaxed. Very good value for money. Would highly recommend Lavinia House.

Response

Hi it was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again

Reviewer:Mr. Ian D | Mon 1st Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Bank Holiday break - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights at the end of May (bank holiday weekend) with friends (we had rooms 1 and 6). Our room, room 6, was on the top floor with a good view of the sea, but was a little cramped for space, although it did have a fantastic shower/bathroom. The rooms were really clean and the guest house was decorated to a high standard. The hospitality was very good and the breakfasts were tasty and plentiful, to include cereals, fresh fruit, egg and bacon etc, toast and tea or coffee. Sarah was very friendly and always ready to chat. This was our first time in Whitby and we couldn't have wished for a better guest house, ideally situated for a great stay. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Response

It was pleasure having you stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry W | Tue 4th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Wonderful Location and excellent hosts - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Lavinia House and this was our first stay here. The hosts are so friendly and make you feel right at home. We were lucky enough to be offered a free upgrade which just goes to show how wonderful the owners are! Our room, room 2, was lovely, clean and comfy with a wonderful view of the crescent and the sea beyond. The room was very spacious wtih a big bathroom too. Breakfast has to be ordered the night before which was not a problem for us and was always delicious and cooked just as requested. The owners recomended a pie shop on the otherside of the swing bridge which was amazing!!! We had a lovely stay and will return here in future!

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again

Reviewer:Miss. Laura O | Sun 19th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

Lovely room (2), Perfect hosts. Beautifully clean and lovely and quiet. Would highly recommend!

Response

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael N | Wed 15th May 2013 | 5 years ago


home from home - Rating 5/5

We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome. I had emailed lavinia house before i booked to explain that my father needed oxygen and we had to have it delivered prior to our arrival. when we arrived it was all in situ and plugged in ready to go, which was a great relief. the rooms were lovely, tv hair dryer and drink making facilities in rooms .The beds are really comfortable. The breakfast full English but Sarah and John would do a different breakfast if you requested it the night before. They were there if you needed them and were always friendly towards you whenever you saw them. the hotel is in the perfect place to get the best out of Whitby and surrounding areas. My husband and I have stayed at the Lavinia 5 times over the years but this was the first time we have met Sarah and John as they have only had it 2 years. We had a fantastic weekend and would thoroughly recommend it. we wouldn't book any where else , home from home is how I would discribe it

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Susan N | Sat 11th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent!!! - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic B &B.Nothing was too much trouble - food was amazing, rooms spotlessly clean and can't wait to visit again

Response

Thank you very much for the review, we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline D | Thu 9th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Winter weekend - Rating 5/5

Rooms lovely, very clean.Breakfast filling and tasty, really nice. Very friendly establishment

Response

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise J | Mon 25th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Well done - Rating 5/5

Most impressed.Will be staying again.Nothing too much trouble. Everywhere lovely and clean and a very good breakfast.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen H | Tue 6th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


Halloween getaway - Rating 5/5

Good food, good service, good place to get your head down. Will be booking again. Maybe pre-book a room with a sea view next time.

Response

Hi it was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian T | Mon 5th Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at Lavinia House and would highly recommend this guest house.Everything from the room to breakfast was great.Will return to this guest house every time. The Flanagans.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracy F | Fri 2nd Nov 2012 | 5 years ago


Northern Hospitality- Rating 5/5

Pam and I had a wonderful break at Lavina House. The location was lovely, room excellent and service second to none.If you are looking to take a break in the North East I couldn't recommend anywherebetter.5 Star

Response

Hi it was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert R | Wed 24th Oct 2012 | 5 years ago


room 1 - Rating 5/5

this was our first visit with the new owners and we were made very welcome on arrival, room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, we will definately be back.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Shelagh B | Thu 18th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Me and my pregnant wife decided to have a weekend in Whitby because we had never been before and was making the most of the time we have before our little boy arrives. We stopped at the Lavinia and found it to be excellent.We stopped in room 7 with a great view and was very welcoming. My only downside was that the bed was too firm for me but the wife loved it (personal taste only). Breakfast was great, even though my wife threw her egg at me lol.Overall we would both go again and would stay at the Lavinia without hesitation, Whitby is such an amazing place and we didnt want to leave. I would recommend that if you go and you find a parking space when you get there then leave your car where it is. Parking is hard to find.I hope this helps others make their decision.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. George T | Wed 17th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


fab weekend !! - Rating 4/5

we arrived at lavinia house and found the location stunning !!, right in the heart of whitby by the sea / harbour front , our room was spacious,bright and clean and tidy, the breakfasts were excellent and a good size , our hosts were friendly and attentive , being such a popular place parking spaces are at a premium for the area, all in all, well worth a visit !!

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Fred G | Thu 11th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights, and had a great time.We were met with a nice warm friendly welcome and showed to our room.The room we had (2) was very nice, spotlessly clean and finished to a very high standard - retaining some very nice original period features.The breakfast was great, really well presented, great tasting produce and served up quickly and with a smile.There was a good choice of options to satisfy everyone.If you're considering staying at this Guest House, you will not be disapointed.

Response

Hi it was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Phil M | Mon 8th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely stay. - Rating 5/5

This is our second stay here, clean room ,clean sheets and good tasty breakfast. Very hospitable proprietors,would recommend to anyone.

Response

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we do hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. David S | Thu 20th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

We stayed in room 3, it was perfect, very clean, large 4 poster bed and 2 floor to ceiling windows with chairs so you could sit and look out at the fantastic views of the sea. The en-suite had a bath which is a luxury most places have just a shower. Friendly hosts and lovely breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay.

Response

Hi it was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard A | Mon 17th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Pleasant and comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Lavinia House. Our room was clean, had a great view and all in all was everything we were looking for. The breakfast was very tasty and the staff were friendly and pleasant. We would definitely return again.

Response

Thank you for the review, and we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne K | Mon 10th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Very clean and modern. - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights, 2/3 Sept 2012. Overall we were very pleased with our choice of accommodation at Lavinia House. The place was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable, a generous sized room with excellent en-suite facilities. Good breakfast! Friendly hosts. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay in Whitby.

Response

Hi thank you very much, we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. RobertD | Wed 5th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Regatta weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay,John and Sarah are very helpful ,would recommend a stay.wayne and kira

Response

Hi it was a pleasure having you stay, we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Miss. Kira L | Wed 5th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly recomended - Rating 4/5

Lovely, comfortable, clean and friendly close to town and sea. Highly recomended.

Response

Thank you for the review, we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine D | Thu 30th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

a lovely stay very comfortable hope to be back soon

Response

It was pleasure having you stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith H | Sun 26th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Lavinia House- Rating 5/5

We stayed in lavinia House for two nights ,it was very enjoyable break the room was very clean and we were very impressed.The cooked breakfast was a great start to the day,everything was spot on and we would strongly recommend this guest house.

Response

It was great having you stay and we hope we will see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian G | Fri 24th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

Would highly recommend Lavinia House to everyone. Right from driving up to the house, and seeing the crescent it is sent in, it has the wow factor. Our room (room 3) was perfect for us with its large 4 poster bed and 2 floor to ceiling windows, all in keeping with the style of property, with fantastic views of the sea. The en-suite bathroom was spotless and not only had a shower but also a bath (luxury) pure white towels that smelt divine. Excellent breakfast choice's cooked and presented to its best. The added bonus is its run by lovely people who were attentive and mindful of our comfort to ensure our stay was enjoyable.So a big Thank You for making our first stay in Whitby one that makes us want to return and stay with you again.Mandy and Mark (Nottingham)

Response

Thank you so much, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark B | Tue 21st Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Lavinia House - Rating 5/5

Very pleasent place to stay with great views of the sea. Owners make you feel very welcome and are pleasent to speak to.

Response

Thank you it was a plesure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mr. John Z | Thu 16th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Our second visit to Whitby and we stayed again at Lavinia House for the simple reason that it is very clean, very well kept, very comfortable,Good location. Nice couple that run it.The next time we go to Whitby it will be Lavinia House again for us.

Response

Thank you so much we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin B | Tue 14th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Lavinia House - Rating 5/5

Absaloutly fantastic hotel very clean excellent location will definatly go back

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay, we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Evans M | Tue 31st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Lavinia House- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay, great room with fantastic views, the food was 'spot on` would happily return. Many many thanks

Response

Thank you very much, we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel C | Tue 24th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We found parking difficult having arrived just before lunchtime but the owner John very kindly helped us find a space and we checked in straight away and we then went off to explore. Our room was lovely, well decorated and very comfy with a fabulous sea view. Breakfast more than adequate and found John and Sarah the most welcoming of hosts. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We look forward to visiting again soon. Debbie and Mike 20 June 2012

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay, we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Debbie H | Thu 19th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Surprise break - Rating 5/5

Took my wife for a birthday treat and we both loved the room, the view (room number 3), the food, the location and the hosts. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone that reads this.

Response

Thank you it was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul L | Sat 14th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We would defininately stay here again.The rooms are really clean and decorated to a high standard compared to alot of other b+b's.The breakfast was lovely and so were the hosts.We had a lovely view out of our room too.(Room 8)

Response

Thank you it was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kerry C | Fri 29th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


weekend break - Rating 5/5

big thank you to john and sarah we had a lovely weekend, room 3 was perfect the view was fantastic and the breakfast was spot on. we will definately be back hope the weather is a bit better then. thank you judith and john.

Response

Thank you so much, look forward to seeing you later in the year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith A | Thu 14th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

Very spacious room with wonderful views of the sea. Relaxed stay for our wedding anniversary. Close to all amenities. Would certainly stay again.

Response

Thank you very much, we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth M | Fri 8th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


awsome - Rating 5/5

stayed here for 2 nights in may. breakfast was more than you could want. room was great with good sea views. well worth the money. dont look any where else as this is the place to stay. owners were so kind. many thanks for looking after us Lavinia. N &H.

Response

Thank you, it was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick C | Thu 7th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Flanagans - Rating 5/5

Had a two night break at Lavinia House would highly recommend. Rooms are top class comfortable clean and very good furnishings. Breakfast was very nice freshly prepared and served in lovely dining room.Would return to this B&B again. Many thanks

Response

Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracy F | Wed 6th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


whitby - Rating 5/5

wonderfuland friendly hosts excellent food lovely and cleanaccomodation the view wasn,t badeither.

Response

Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen D | Sat 2nd Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

A lovely room with excellent views of the harbour &sea Our breakfasts where very enjoyablewhich set us up for the day. We both enjoyed our welcomed stay at Lavinia House. a perfect place for our weekend stay.Looking forward to our next stay in September .A very big thank you to John &Sarah

Response

Thank you so much, we enjoyed having you stay and look forward to seeing you in September.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian F | Tue 29th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Perfect- Rating 5/5

This is truly a little gem of a place to stay.This was our 4th visit and we've already booked again for a summer weekend. Spotlessly clean, quality furnishings and linens, superb breakfasts, great location and lastly but by no means least, really lovely owners - what more can you ask for!

Response

Thank you so much, we enjoyed having you stay and look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jayne P | Mon 28th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Lavinia Guest House, Whitby - Rating 5/5

Great guest house in a good location with a friendly welcome, great rooms with good views. Breakfast was the best we have had on the east cosst. Me and my partner would stop there again. We have recommended the Lavinia House to family and friends, 10/10 guest house.

Response

Thank you so much for the lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil R | Mon 21st May 2012 | 6 years ago


Sunny Whitby - Rating 5/5

A very clean and tidy accommodation with good views of harbour and sea.Adequate breakfast served by the welcoming proprietors.Very quiet on nights allowing an uninterrupted sleep.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kerry C | Fri 18th May 2012 | 6 years ago


kira & wayne - Rating 5/5

Booked room 6, was very nice with a brilliant view of the sea and very comfy. Breakfast was very nice and i would highly reccomend this place to anyone we liked it that much first thing we did when we got back was book again for August.John &Sarah are very nice and friendly and will help in everyway they can to make your stay as good as possible (see you again soon)

Response

Thank you it was great having you stay, we will see you in August.

Reviewer:Miss. Kira L | Wed 9th May 2012 | 6 years ago


fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

arriving on friday 13th after a pretty traumatic journey (my neighbour reversed into my car just before setting off)we were welcomed into the Lavinia and our beautiful room. I had chosen the room as it had sea views and we were not disappointed. we enjoyed our stay so much, the hospitality, the lovely breakfasts - everything we wanted. thanks ever so much - we will be recommendingthe Lavinia House to anyone that wants to stay in Whitby

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Andrea S | Sun 29th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We booked room three, absolutley stunning very comfortable stay.On arrival received a warm welcome. I would certainly stay here again.

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Ms. LisaL | Thu 26th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


our anniversay weekend at lavinia house - Rating 5/5

excellant location, nice room loved the four poster bed,lovelly and clean and the breakfast was brill. Will be booking another weekend in room 3.

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay, we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy B | Wed 18th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Nice clean room and a very good breakfast,made to feel welcome top marks from me and my wife

Response

Thank you so much it was a pleasure having you at Lavinia House, we hope to see you again.RegardsJohn & Sarah

Reviewer:Mr. Patrick C | Mon 16th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


lavinia house- Rating 5/5

is a beautiful victorian building set at the top of quite a steep hill but well worth the climb.We stayed in room 2 which had a lovely four poster bed and great views out to sea.Thank you John &sarah for making our short break so enjoyable,not forgetting the hearty breakfast that set us up for the day.

Response

Thank you so much for your review, we are very pleased that you both enjoyed your stay here with us in Whitby, we hope to see you again.RegardsJohn & Sarah

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret B | Sat 7th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Warm, friendly welcome. - Rating 5/5

Thanks so much for the lovely stay, fabulous room and everything we needed!

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Joanne B | Mon 2nd Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays